Saturday, 22 December 2012

The Portable Naval Wargame

As promised I have managed to reformat both my original MEMOIR OF BATTLE AT SEA (MOBAS) rules and the 1860 to 1870 variant of the rules so that they have a commong format with my existing PORTABLE WARGAME rules. I have also renamed the rules, and they are now called:
  • The PORTABLE NAVAL WARGAME: PRE-DREADNOUGHT rules and
  • The PORTABLE NAVAL WARGAME: 1860 to 1870 rules.
Both are available for download from THE PORTABLE WARGAME WEBSITE (click here for the PORTABLE NAVAL WARGAME: PRE-DREADNOUGHT rules and here for the PORTABLE NAVAL WARGAME: 1860 to 1870 rules) and from Google Documents (click here and here respectively).

The Turret Ram Huascar

8 comments:

  1. Hi Bob,

    Duly downloaded and saved and I am looking forward to giving them a run out - once I have knocked up some models!

    All the best,

    DC

    ReplyDelete
  2. David Crook,

    The mechanisms are the same, it is just the format that is different. You should have no problem at all using them, once your models are built.

    All the best,

    Bob

    ReplyDelete
  3. Good work, Bob! I do like the new format better.
    -Steve

    ReplyDelete
  4. Steven Page,

    Many thanks for your kind comment.

    I think that the new format is easier to use than the previous one and should be easier to alter and adjust as needs be.

    All the best,

    Bob

    ReplyDelete
  5. I shall have to give these a try - maybe on New Year's Day, the 150th anniversary of the Battle of Galveston :)

    ReplyDelete
  6. Kaptain Kobold,

    I look forward to hearing how you get on with them ... and please fell free to modify them to suit your own requirements and ideas.

    All the best,

    Bob

    ReplyDelete
  7. A couple of questions about the 1860-70 set.

    (i) What happens after a ram? Does the ramming ship stay in the same hex as the one it's rammed? Are there any restrictions on movement in the turn after after a ram?

    (ii) When gunnery is halved for firing into the bow or stern, is it rounded up or down?

    Thanks.

    ReplyDelete
  8. Kaptain Kobold,

    In my experience ships that are rammed usually sink, thus leaving the ramming ship on its own in the hex. If both ships are still able to move after the ramming, I would expect the ramming ship to go astern for a turn and the rammed ship to go ahead for a turn. I think that this was in the original notes that I wrote, but not on the draft that I published.

    Gunnery is rounded up rather than down when firing forward or astern. Again, this was in my original notes but not on the most recent draft.

    I probably need to include a separate set of notes and examples, and I will try to write them some time during the next week or so.

    Thanks for raising these questions. They help to improve the rules.

    All the best,

    Bob

    ReplyDelete